April 8th, 1951

Journal,

 

My family and I are currently on a ship, heading for America. Joanne was finally released from the hospital a few months ago. The British knew of my desire to leave and offered me employment in England. My friend from Hoboken, however, informed me that I could move to the United States with my family and we could sail there for free. I prefer America to England, since I have a grandfather in America. He immigrated in 1800 with his younger brother and they eventually settled in Philadelphia. I would like to be near family. There was a long list of Germans waiting to be allowed to immigrate to the United States and my family and I were low on the list. But my friend allowed us to jump ahead of 60,000 people and receive our visas from the consul.

 

We were booked passage on a United States Naval ship. I agreed to work as a policeman on board to cover our fees. The trip has been rough so far, with high seas and heavy wind. Many are sick down below, which is why I have chosen to spend so much time on deck. With everyone sick, there is little need for a policeman. Staying on deck has kept me healthy, I think. I can eat well and breathe the fresh air. There are so many refugees crowded in below deck. We’ve been at sea for about one week. I believe we are halfway to our destination, New York City.

 

Henry

Published in: on April 22, 2006 at 4:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://henrysdiary.wordpress.com/2006/04/22/october-15th-1939-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

